PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together

PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Pontiac - Boost (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=495)
-   -   Cranks for boosted applications. (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=873113)

pontiac_boy 04-12-2024 10:30 AM

Cranks for boosted applications.

Little bit of a noob here when it comes to boosted Pontiac but I wanted to get a general understanding on y’all’s experience and opinions on cranks.

I’m in the initial process of collecting parts for a Boosted drag and drive motor. A couple months ago I called Frank at All Pontiac and made a deposit on an aftermarket iron block. While talking to him, he recommended a 4.25 bore and 4.25 stroke Billet crank.

I’ve seen previous threads from a couple years back where people have stated keeping the stroke shorter would be ideal and even some have said 4.00 and under, but I’ve also seen a few guys successfully running a longer stroke successfully. What’s the current consensus in stroke?

I’m looking to build something capable of mid nines initially with room to grow as I gain more experience with the combo. So I’m figuring in a 3600lb car I probably need to be in the 1k-1200hp range?
Am I crazy?

performerrpm 04-12-2024 12:48 PM

have you received your block? i put my deposit down 2 months ago as well and hoping it gets here soon.

frank rec'd me to go with a 4.35 bore with my roots blown build and at the time i was gonna use my 4.0 crank . i instead used that crank in my 400 and going to run a 4.250 crank in the ia2 block with a procharger. seams like 4.0 and 4.250 is the general consensus on boosted apps even using a new block

charlie66 04-12-2024 01:52 PM

IMO the smallest stroke is the way to go. I go mid nines with a 3.75" stroke with a 198ci motor . More stroke will just make it harder to get down the track ..