PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together

PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Electrical Tech (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=424)
-   -   Testing Rally Clock (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=839191)

kyle_blake 03-31-2020 01:34 AM

Testing Rally Clock

3 Attachment(s)
Hi,

I have a rally clock, I believe it is from a 1971 Grand Prix, it has the blue casing for blue lights.

So everything is moving great. The seconds hand will do a full revolution until it hit contacts point then of course stops. This is without any power attached to it.

So I hook power up to the clock at the battery. The contacts glow of course since it closed ..... but it doesn't push the mechanism back to start the 60 seconds again???

I'm new to this... what is the expected result with hooking to battery voltage to start?

Should the seconds start regardless of it's position as it relates to contact points?

killakev 03-31-2020 03:11 PM

Where the two arms or "points" meet, is there a spring attached? Can't tell from the pictures.
There should be. Once those two arms contacted when connected the movable arm should snap open therefor rewinding the clock.

kyle_blake 03-31-2020 03:50 PM

1 Attachment(s)
That is what I thought, the contacts should hit and then somehow the round wheel should fling all the way back and start the 60 seconds " routine " again and again .. It for sure is not "fling" back.

I attached a blown up picture for you, I don't think any springs are missing???

Let me know if you want a better picture, thanks again.

kyle_blake 03-31-2020 09:49 PM

Ok watched some videos, The relay when it comes back and connects should spring it back. I tested that and it works. So here seems to be the issue.

The seconds hand will not do a full free for all revolution on it's own. I'm suspecting it's getting hung up and needs lubrication.