PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together

PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Heating & Cooling TECH (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=420)
-   -   69 Firebird (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=842911)

jtkk0360 08-01-2020 07:33 AM

69 Firebird

Is it necessary for a 69 Firebird to have a radiator overflow tank? They did not come with one back then did they? Thanks.

dataway 08-01-2020 08:28 AM

Yep they had one ... and they are a real good idea. Working correctly they will keep your radiator topped up nicely. They don't just catch overflow ... they allow the radiator to suck coolant back into the radiator instead of air when the engine cools off.

At least modern tanks work that way.

jtkk0360 08-01-2020 01:24 PM

Thanks

Thanks for reply. I am no mechanic. I also have a fairly good performance motor. 350 small block, but 408 stroker. Mainly set up for show. All aluminum, chrome, and stainless. Dynoed 522 HP and 519 Torque. I have a custom built aluminum big block radiator , with custom built in aluminum shroud with large electric fan. So it is a modern tank. So overflow should be mandatory in my application you think? Company building car says not necessary. Thanks. Jerry

dataway 08-01-2020 03:17 PM

I guess it depends on your definition of necessary. No it is not necessary for the car to run, perform well and stay cool ... as long as you check coolant level now and then. Also ... if your radiator does sometime over flow a bit ... the tank would keep the coolant off the underside of the car.
But no, it's not a critical component.

Hikin Mike 08-01-2020 03:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dataway (Post 6166087)