PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together

PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Pontiac - Street (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=418)
-   -   Stick with the 1966 389? Or go with a 400/455? (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=835416)

Tomaso 11-05-2019 05:04 PM

Stick with the 1966 389? Or go with a 400/455?

Hi Guys,
Newbie here. As my first post I mentioned I had just purchased a 66 Pontiac Bonneville. It currently has a 389. I would like a beefier engine. What would be the best route to take? I heard some 389s were good motors.
Should I:

Keep the 389 and get a stroker kit?
Or aim for a 400/455 with a stroker kit?

Mike

389 11-05-2019 05:24 PM

I would keep the 389. I went down this road with a 64. I changed the 389/4 speed hydro to a 462/th400. the motor had ported 6X heads and a 041 cam. The car ended up being a pain in the ass, it was loud, smelly and sucked gas like crazy. I was always trying to rev it up into the power band that cam was so wrong for a street car with this weight. Frankly it didn't go much faster then when it had the 389. I would put a 068 cam in that 389 and play around with the timing. Keep the points and use it to trigger a CD box like the MSD6AL. Look for a nice 3.08 rear end with a dual quad intake and run two Carter AFBs on it.. Remember its a Bonneville not a GTO..

Tomaso 11-05-2019 05:35 PM

Thanks for the info! What about the cylinder heads? Keep stock and rebuild them? Or go with aftermarket?

Rob in NH 11-05-2019 06:00 PM

What about a set of 093 heads for a 389?

Holeshot71 11-05-2019 07:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 389 (Post 6078865)