PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together

PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/index.php)
-   71-77 Ventura including 74 GTO TECH (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=438)
-   -   '74 GTO Questions (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=768268)

SD455DJ 01-20-2015 06:33 PM

'74 GTO Questions

5 Attachment(s)
Hi All,

I'm new to the X-body Pontiacs and recently purchased a 74 GTO that hails from Bert Adams Pontiac in Joliet, IL. Bob Adams recalls ordering the car when he was a teenager for the lot. It is special order color Starlight Black, 4 speed, 3.08 posi, gauges & tach (w/ clock), buckets, custom carpets, Power steering & brakes (converted to power disc), and RWL tires.

I'm missing the bumper jack and base, so in the market if you know anyone that has one (I'm sure is shared with the Nova and other X-bodies), I'm interested.

Does anyone know if the tach is powered off the printed circuit or does it need a separate wire (brown) like the A & F bodies?

The car was restored by Steve Kovacs in Lowell, MI and is really nice. I just have to finish the interior and a few odds and ends. The drivetrain and mechanicals were completely rebuilt and many NOS pieces were rounded up for the car. Steve installed a 3.42 gear out back for a little more go. The engine was rebuilt (0.030 over with a CC XE256H cam) and has a whopping 7.9 compression now. According to the desktop dyno it is making 284 hp at 5000 rpm at 373 lbft of torque at 3800 rpm. It should be pretty peppy. I will swap in an Muncie M-20 for a little more strength over the original Saginaw.

It will be on the road in the spring! I can't wait.

Dennis

threefidee 01-20-2015 08:52 PM

Tach is powered off the printed circuit in the circuit board. Car looks great ! Welcome to the club. Just think, you could have the second fastest '74 GTO to ever attend the pure stock drags :)

Jody