Members Helping Members help Buying a non Pontiac item, transportation help, Handy-man advice, directions, vacation ideas, places to dine, ebay and generally anything you think might help other members.

Old 03-04-2008, 04:51 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default '02 Mountaineer posi lube

My G/F traded vehicles. The accusition is a Mecury Mountaineer, which makes a vibrating rubbing sound from the rear when turning sharply in either direction, also in forward or reverse. It's All wheel drive with a posi rear. The dealer changed tires thinking that was the problem.... no change. She was looking at the owners manual for axle lube it stated 75-140 synthetic with no mention of an additive. Is additives required?

Old 03-05-2008, 12:18 PM
Ultimate Warrior

There is a special additive that is needed. I'm kinda surprised they chenged the tires think that would fix it unless the tires were real bad. I'm a tech at a Ford dealer and we have done alot of clutch packs in those rear ends for that concern.
On the 8.8's you have to remove the ring gear to get the s pring out to replace the clutch packs, there really not to hard to do once you get the rear end out and not too many specials tools needed. There are updated side axle seals you should replace at the same time, you'll have to knock of the dust seals off the axle shafts for the new seals.
If you do the clutch packs you'll need 2qts 75w140 and two small bottles of friction modifier, one to soak the clutches in for at least 15 minutes and the other to add in the oil.
The Ford clutch kit comes with IIRC a .030, .035 and .040 shim, everyone one we do always has needed the smallest shim and we havn't had any problems. Just make sure it's the kit with a full friction material discs, the old style has 3 friction spots on each side.

6.27@107
9.97@131

Last edited by Bill Eveland; 03-05-2008 at 12:29 PM.
Old 03-05-2008, 12:28 PM
Ultimate Warrior