Members Helping Members help Buying a non Pontiac item, transportation help, Handy-man advice, directions, vacation ideas, places to dine, ebay and generally anything you think might help other members.

Old 06-13-2007, 10:04 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Any chain saw experts?

I borrowed my dad's chain saw, and as part of the deal, I want to put it in top-notch condition when I return it. It's in pretty good condition since it's only seen homeowner use. I'm no expert on these, and a few of things happened while using it.

It's a little hard to start and keep running when cold. Runs fine when warmed up.

I used it to fell a tree and started cutting it up. At one point the engine was running at speed, but the chain stalled, even with no load on it. The oiler is working fine and I even cranked it up to max oil delivery. I let it cool off a bit, then it worked fine. It did a fine job on my dead tree.

Second time, it seemed down on power. I could cut logs, but had to go gently or the engine would slow.

Any help is appreciated. It's an Echo CS-330EVL single cylinder 2-stroke.

Old 06-13-2007, 10:22 PM
Senior Chief

Bad gas, old gas, improperly mixed gas and a gummed up carburetor could be the cause. Also, if Sta-bil was used in the past, it has a tendancy to gum up the carb. The spark arrestor could be bad as well.

Dump out the old gas, mix up some new oil/gas, clean out the carb with some carb cleaner and give it a try.

Chain saw dust and oil can also gum up the linkage. A thorough cleaning will help.

Old 06-13-2007, 11:04 PM

Don't forget to keep the chain nice and sharp. It's amazing the difference between a sharp and dull chain, like a whole new saw when sharp.

Old 06-13-2007, 11:30 PM
Senior Chief

Good point. If the shavings are large and chunky, chain is sharp. If powdery, dull. Also smell for smoldering or burnt/discolored wood, another sign of a dull chain. Check for bluing on the cutters.

Old 06-14-2007, 02:12 PM
Ultimate Warrior