73-77 A-body TECH Includes 73GTO, LeMans, Grand Am, Can Am

Old 06-29-2016, 04:53 PM

Default 73 for me

Hi,
I'm a newbie on this forum. Currently I'm looking for a decent 73 Grand Am coupe. My father ordered a heavily optioned Florentine Red 455 coupe new. He actually ordered an SD but had to go with the standard 455. The dealer told him he would need to change his deposit to a Trans Am or Formula for that engine even though it was listed in the factory brochure.

Well, my mother would not drive a car with a flaming bird on the hood, and he wanted a larger rear seat, so Grand Am it was. His Grand Am was a great car that he loved, pampered, and kept till the mid 80's. Now that I am about his age when he purchased it I am feeling nostalgic and would like one for my wife and I to take crusing on the weekends.

I have found two so far. One 400 auto, nice, power everything, no sunroof and in decent current driver condition. The other is a 400 4-speed with manual sunroof, no power options, but with climate control A/C and 5 honeycombs. It needs much more work, a complete nose, paint, tires, mechanical freshening, etc. and has not run in at least 5 years. Is there a site that can tell me what a fair price to pay for either of these cars. Any input, tips on what to look for, or recommendations will be greatly appreciated!

Old 06-29-2016, 07:49 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Quote:
Originally Posted by 73 for me View Post
Any input, tips on what to look for, or recommendations will be greatly appreciated!
Find the car with the least amount of body work needed. These cars aren't super valuable, so you can find a decent body for not too much more cost than a rusty pile of junk. Interior parts in these cars didn't hold up terribly well in the sun either, so if hunting down and replacing baked interior parts isn't fun to you, don't go that route either.