Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 07-16-2023, 05:36 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Hagerty insurance

As my policy is getting ready for renewal I was looking around and I wanted to take inventory of some of you guy’s experience. I have Hagerty at 65k. When this project first started I had a break in and had a lot of my parts stolen (some with no receipts) and they paid promptly no hesitation. Now I am reading on BBB and others that they got bought by a company called Essentia and have gone in the toilet. I need someone who is gonna cover me and let me drive it. Not as a daily driver, I won’t be exceeding Hagerty requested 7500 miles but it will get driven a lot. I have my car, my truck, and my wife’s new Equinox so showing other regular drivers isn’t a problem. Who are you using or even better what’s your experience with Hagerty for a car claim?

Old 07-16-2023, 06:52 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Hmm waiting to hear. I noticed on my Hagerty insurance card name change.

Old 07-16-2023, 07:31 AM
Senior Chief

I just went to JCTaylor. I shopped and around found it to be almost 1/2 the rate for a little better coverage. I went through the independent broker I have my house and other cars with. I had one very small claim with Hagerty, they covered it without issue. The price just kept increasing every year.

Old 07-16-2023, 08:07 AM
Ultimate Warrior

I’ve had American Collectors and now Grundy, but no claims experience with either other than towing. Grundy is significantly less expensive than American Collectors and literally 50% less than Hagerty based on a recent quote for same level of coverage. This is in Maryland, not sure if it’s different anywhere else.

'69 Firebird 400/461, 290+ E D-Ports, HR 230/236, 4l80E, 8.5 Rear, 3.55 gears
'64 LeMans 400/461, #16 Heads, HR 230/236, TKO600, 9inch Rear, 3.89 gears
'69 LeMans Vert, 350, #47 heads: Non-running project
Old 07-16-2023, 09:50 AM
Ultimate Warrior

I heard Grundy was very strict on mileage