Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 11-04-2023, 11:02 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default '69 differential help

I'm just finishing the restomod on my '69 GTO convertible that I've been working on for 3 years. I haven't even put 50 miles on the car yet.

Yesterday while driving it I started hearing a hell of a noise coming from the rear of the car whenever I let off the gas pedal. I nursed the car home and immediately put it up on jack stands to inspect. It didn't take long to find the problem. The yoke on the differential was all sloppy! So, that would mean to me the pinion bearings are toast.

I bought all the new parts including gears for it and then paid to have it assembled. Like it said not even have 50 miles on since then. The machine shop I used to assemble the engine recommended the guy to me for the rear end assembly. He said just bring me the rear axle and I'll have him come pick it up and assemble it for you and bring it back. So I never met the guy that did the work and don't who he is. I will start out by calling the machine shop guy on Monday and see what he advises me to do.

Here's a photo of the parts I bought. New Dana 3.55 gears, a Yukon bearing kit which as I remember are Timken bearings and a Auburn Gear limited slip differential.

Any info you guys can give me as far as what might have gone wrong and what other damage this might have caused? Any suggested guidance going forward for me would be appreciated too.
I also hope to get some guidance from the machine shop owner when I talk to him on Monday. It wasn't his fault but I hope he will he feels some responsibility to help assist me in getting this issue resolved.

'55 Chevy Bel Air Sport Coupe - Ram Jet 350 / T56 Magnum 6spd, Restomod Completed Sept. 2012, Sold Sept. 2021 PHOTO
Old 11-04-2023, 11:52 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Hard to say.
My first thoughts are .

1) did not torque the new crush collar to the right spec.
2) Used the old crush collar, and if so hopefully by mistake.