Old 10-28-2000, 06:40 PM

Hi, I am looking at buying a 69 GP SJ. The guy says its a 428. How can I verify and find
out if its the 370hp or 390? Everything looks
stock under the hood except chrome valve covers. Owner says its been parked for years
and mileage is original(50,400). Car is dark blue with dark blue vinyl.Extremely straight body but has some rust under vinyl and around fenders. Not rusted through though.Has mags and I think they said Hurst on them.Were these an option or aftermarket?
I have tons of questions as I am new to classic cars.Car runs smooth. He's asking 2500. for car. Hows that seem for price?
Thanks for any and all replies, Kevin.

Old 10-28-2000, 06:40 PM

Hi, I am looking at buying a 69 GP SJ. The guy says its a 428. How can I verify and find
out if its the 370hp or 390? Everything looks
stock under the hood except chrome valve covers. Owner says its been parked for years
and mileage is original(50,400). Car is dark blue with dark blue vinyl.Extremely straight body but has some rust under vinyl and around fenders. Not rusted through though.Has mags and I think they said Hurst on them.Were these an option or aftermarket?
I have tons of questions as I am new to classic cars.Car runs smooth. He's asking 2500. for car. Hows that seem for price?
Thanks for any and all replies, Kevin.

Old 10-28-2000, 09:08 PM

Kevin,

The chrome valve covers would have been stock on either 428 engine. All '69 SJs came with the 428 engine. The 390 version of the 428 was known as the 428 HO, and would have very long cast exhaust manifolds (looks almost like a cast header), and the engine code will be XG if the car is an automatic, and WL if it is a manual transmission car. Also on the HO, the oil filter will be turned about 30 degrees and the bottom of the filter will be facing the rear of the car instead of pointing almost straight down.