Members Helping Members help Buying a non Pontiac item, transportation help, Handy-man advice, directions, vacation ideas, places to dine, ebay and generally anything you think might help other members.

Old 10-18-2007, 05:07 PM
Senior Chief

Default Any A&P mechanics here???

Any Airframe and powerplant mechanics here that can give me some advice?
I graduated in Dec 06 and got my A&P in Jan 07. I'm having a horrible time trying to find a decent job. I have 14 yrs experience with a major airline as a customer service agent but, that doesn't seem to help. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thx Eric

1965 GTO, 408 tri-power, 4 speed, Currie 12 bolt w/3:42's, Hurst wheels
Old 10-18-2007, 06:13 PM
Senior Chief

Eric,
I have been in the aviation industry for 18 years, I am also an A&P. It is tuff to get a job if you are green, you will have to start at the botton. I really don't have any secrets to offer beside getting to know people in the industy in your area. Go to the airports and get to know the shops and the people. If you want to to move to SanMarcos Texas I know a paint shop that needs and A & P. Sorry I am not more help.

Walter Lansing

Old 10-18-2007, 07:26 PM
Senior Chief

That whole deal with the Northwest mechanics going on strike a while back seems to be really hurting me. There is alot of guys out there with experience looking for jobs too. I've had 3 interviews but, how can I compete with those guys? It would seem to me that they would want a mix of experience levels. At some point they have to train us new guys. Right??

Old 10-19-2007, 12:26 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Are you interested in relocating, or are you trying to stay in your area? I see a lot of ads in the Phoenix careerbuilder.com for A&P mechanics.

Old 10-19-2007, 09:57 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Check out www.forums.amtonline.com/

Old 10-20-2007, 01:22 PM
Senior Chief

Cool thanks!

Old 10-20-2007, 09:43 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Sorry, should be http://forums.amtonline.com/