Old 06-13-2005, 08:40 PM

IMy 71 bird is stock 350 less true duals and a Petronix. I have a HEI from a 74 bird I believe and am wondering what real benifits to putting in the HEI as opposed to just leaving the petronix? I really like the ease of it, but my orig distributor does have a little bit of up and down loose-play to it.

Now part2, how difficult is putting in the HEI (a mech that looked at it last year, before having the HEI, said it was already wired for HEI and that I should have just gone with the HEI instead of the petronix)well, didn't have the HEI then, but do now.

How hard is it to change dist? and any tips to know before hand or to watch out for. This will be a first, I've never done anything other than put in the petronix with the mech who made the comment, but he's gone now, so it will most likely be a solo job. I'm a noob, so very hesitent on trying since it's the daily driver and don't want to screw it up...lol. Any advice is greatly appreciated as always!

Old 06-14-2005, 07:32 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Dave's Small Body HEIs!!!

http://www.davessmallbodyheis.com

The only way to go!

V/R,
Ty

Old 06-16-2005, 08:02 AM

Thanks for the reply Ty...will check it out, but I do already have a unit I just bought. I guess it should be tuned up by a pro before thinking about putting it in, but wondering what noticeable benefits over the stock/petronix it would be?? any thoughts?
Thanks

Old 06-16-2005, 08:15 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Dave Ray converts your stock points distributor to full HEI or MSD trigger and will set up your distributor on his machine FOR YOUR APPLICATION!
You can't beat his prices or the service he provides!! Check out his website and then give him a call! Trust me you won't be disappointed!
V/R,
Ty

p.s. Plus it's smaller than a real HEI and looks like a stock points dist for the stealthy approach!

Old 06-27-2005, 08:07 PM
Ultimate Warrior