Old 06-06-2004, 09:38 PM

Hi new here. Just bought 2 1960 pontiacs both with 389 engines. The trannsmission is in the trunk of one. Weirdest thing i ever seen. I am a mechanic and own my own shop so no stranger to transmissions but never messed with anything this old. The converter sits inside a cover with studs all the way around it and the heavy face for this cover that evidentally seals in the convertor was on the front floorboard. Anyways, when I get to thast point I was thinking it may be easier to put a more modern tranny behind it due to parts availability and finding a tranny shop that actually has anyone who knows anything about this oldie. Would a turbo 400 bolt up to the 389 block or does it have to use one of these old style turbo hydra matics(as I was told it was) behind it. I really want to use the 389 engine. Just didn't know if bellhousing bolt patterns were standard through the years for all gm automatics. Cory

Old 06-06-2004, 09:38 PM

Hi new here. Just bought 2 1960 pontiacs both with 389 engines. The trannsmission is in the trunk of one. Weirdest thing i ever seen. I am a mechanic and own my own shop so no stranger to transmissions but never messed with anything this old. The converter sits inside a cover with studs all the way around it and the heavy face for this cover that evidentally seals in the convertor was on the front floorboard. Anyways, when I get to thast point I was thinking it may be easier to put a more modern tranny behind it due to parts availability and finding a tranny shop that actually has anyone who knows anything about this oldie. Would a turbo 400 bolt up to the 389 block or does it have to use one of these old style turbo hydra matics(as I was told it was) behind it. I really want to use the 389 engine. Just didn't know if bellhousing bolt patterns were standard through the years for all gm automatics. Cory

Old 06-06-2004, 10:48 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Hi CM,