Exhaust TECH Mufflers, Headers and Pipes Issues

Old 03-06-2002, 06:37 PM
Ultimate Warrior

OK after being sidetracked for months, I am putting my RamAir repros in my 67 GTO. (no racing here, just fast driving)
I want to replace the entire exhaust system too.
I have read over the last 6 months or so, about the great results Mr. Hands saw with the Dr. Gas parts. If I want to use that setup, do I buy the whole thing from them?
Or can I:
-Buy the special R/A GTO Down Pipes, the Headpipes, Tailpipes and Walker Mufflers from Torque Tech ..AND...
-Get the crossover from Dar Gas and have it all put together?

Is that a dumb way to go? Or for a street car, should I just go the Torque Tech full setup with the Walkers?
Also, when I get all the stuff from say, Torque Tech, can i put it all together in my driveway? I'm no dummy but i'm not a mechanic.. Is it OK to drive down to the muffler shop with only my headers on?? Damn, it sure sounds like a hell of a lot of fun!!!!! What do others do once you get your manifolds or headers on and need to get the exhaust on?
One More question please.. which way do the metal header gaskets that Paul sent me go on? With the raised bead towards the exhuast manifold or towards the head?

Thanks so much everyone!
James

Work
'67 GTO Convertible "Koerner Built 413 500 hp with a Victor!.. I'll run a stock intake."
'75 Formula 400 - Daily Driver -
Running with my Home Built 455 and TH400

Details here:
http://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/...d.php?t=588372
Old 03-06-2002, 06:37 PM
Ultimate Warrior

OK after being sidetracked for months, I am putting my RamAir repros in my 67 GTO. (no racing here, just fast driving)
I want to replace the entire exhaust system too.
I have read over the last 6 months or so, about the great results Mr. Hands saw with the Dr. Gas parts. If I want to use that setup, do I buy the whole thing from them?
Or can I:
-Buy the special R/A GTO Down Pipes, the Headpipes, Tailpipes and Walker Mufflers from Torque Tech ..AND...