Old 07-18-2015, 08:37 AM

Default electrical problem-brake light fuse blows out

Own a 67 GTO. When I step on the brake the courtesy light above console lights up, eventually the brake light fuse blows. What is the best way to tackle this problem. Ground issue has been suggested, where is this ground located?

Thanks in advance.
Dan

Old 07-20-2015, 10:43 AM
Ultimate Warrior

If you want my honest opinion....Call American Autowire or M&H and start replacing the entire system with new stuff. I'm sick to death of jacking around with 45 year old electrical gremilins and i'm an electrician by trade. This fall my GTO is getting completely rewired.

-1967 GTO HO Restomod. PKMM 433ci, SilverSport T56 Magnum 6spd, Moser 9", SC&C and a bunch of other pro touring goodies

- Build Thread
http://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/...615847&page=23
Old 07-20-2015, 11:01 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Now with that said....I would pull the taillight harness, cut it apart and see whats going on in there. Could be cracked wires. It could be a tail lamp socket. If you cut it apart and nothing is wrong youre only out some electrical tape to re wrap it.

I had to completely redo mine with sockets, new splices, wire replacement throughout it and all kinds of tape. Its a hodge podge of BS just like my headlights and my under dash.

-1967 GTO HO Restomod. PKMM 433ci, SilverSport T56 Magnum 6spd, Moser 9", SC&C and a bunch of other pro touring goodies

- Build Thread
http://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/...615847&page=23
Old 07-20-2015, 12:05 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I have chased a fair number of electrical issue issues. Yours is interesting.

Thing to do is get a schematic for you vehicle and get real familiar with it. Get familiar with what wires go to the courtesy light and the wire that go to the tail lights.