Old 05-16-2013, 11:26 PM
Senior Chief

Default New B bought a 70 Formula 400

Hello everyone! My name is Eric. I recently bought a 70 Firebird Formula 400. I sent the vin into PHS and received that info packet back today. I am still reading through it, figuring out what the car was when it was built. PHS documents state the car was a "special order." Here is a picture of it.

The car has been painted a couple of times. It was originally Coronado Gold, then painted red, then white. The interior was saddle vinyl when new. I can see hints of the Saddle under some of the trim pieces that were painted black. It has been changed around quite a bit.

The car has some issues that need to be addressed very soon.
A little about me. I am a veteran body and paint tech so doing the body and paint, practically the entire rebuild of the car will be done by myself.
I noticed that this beauty has been in a front end crash at one time. It has had the right fender replaced and the front radiator support has been beat up to make the nose fit the hood and fenders (It does not fit the panels very well lol.) I have scored a good used radiator support from a 70 firebird locally that will go on once I track down the right fender and mounting hardware. What I can't seem to track down is the "proper" right fender. It seems as though the 70 to 72 fenders are their own creatures. All the others are different. Here is a pic of what is going on.

Right fender appears to be off of a later model?

If anyone has a good useable right fender for a 70, I am ISO one.
As I read here on this forum, I found that the 70 Firebird did not come with the rear spoiler? I get to remove this one and weld up the holes?

The hood appears to be the functionable ram air hood. Of course, the air cleaner is missing I found that the engine is not original. It is out of a 78 Trans Am, so I was told, and it could be wrong, too.