#1  
Old 07-10-2019, 08:39 AM
starlightblack's Avatar
starlightblack starlightblack is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 909
Default Power Window Relay

Is there a direct aftermarket replacement for this? 1976-81 only...It's really holding me up and I am hesitant to buy a used one. Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-07-08 at 1.37.43 PM.png
Views:	28
Size:	185.6 KB
ID:	515553   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-07-08 at 1.37.48 PM.png
Views:	26
Size:	196.6 KB
ID:	515554   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-07-08 at 1.37.53 PM.png
Views:	26
Size:	155.3 KB
ID:	515555  
  #2  
Old 07-10-2019, 08:45 AM
TAKerry TAKerry is offline
Senior Chief
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: North Eastern MD
Posts: 436
Default

Where is that located? I dont recall seeing that in my car. I dont know much about the electric but I did install aftermarket relays to my power windows. I also put in new motors. The after market relay trick worked pretty good and is fairly easy to install.
  #3  
Old 07-10-2019, 08:51 AM
starlightblack's Avatar
starlightblack starlightblack is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 909
Default

Its is actually screwed to the bulkhead at the steering column - behind instrument panel
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-07-10 at 8.49.46 AM.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	36.0 KB
ID:	515557  
  #4  
Old 07-10-2019, 09:05 AM
TAKerry TAKerry is offline
Senior Chief
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: North Eastern MD
Posts: 436
Default

Thanks, that explains things a bit better. Can you swap that out with an aftermarket relay? Now that I think about it I am pretty sure that's what the setup I put in does. Only I located mine under the console. Power wire goes from source to relay to switches. There is a really good tutorial in Trans am country.
  #5  
Old 07-10-2019, 09:16 AM
starlightblack's Avatar
starlightblack starlightblack is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 909
Default

Thanks but no time for that, just need to swap in relay in original location and get this car on the road NOW.
  #6  
Old 07-10-2019, 09:19 AM
TAKerry TAKerry is offline
Senior Chief
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: North Eastern MD
Posts: 436
Default

No problem, I was just thinking that if you were having trouble locating a direct replacement that there may be an acceptable alternative that is readily available.
  #7  
Old 07-10-2019, 10:08 AM
77 Canamman's Avatar
77 Canamman 77 Canamman is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 3,451
Default

To show part number only:



Per Partsvoice.com:
Craig Motors -Napa Gm NAPA, CA 94559
(707) 224-8111
__________________
1973 Formula, 455/M40 Admiralty Blue 90k actual miles

1976 LeMans B09 Freeway Enforcer, 455/M40 Smokey

1977 Trans Am, 400/M21 Black/Gold Bandit. 44K actual miles

2017 Sierra SLT 1500 Z71 4X4

2019 Canyon SLT Crew 4X4




Last edited by 77 Canamman; 07-10-2019 at 10:13 AM.
  #8  
Old 07-10-2019, 10:28 AM
Grand73Am Grand73Am is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 2,736
Default

That "relay" only makes it so you have to turn the ignition key on for the windows to work. It's not needed. So you can remove it, or leave it and bypass it. Doesn't matter.

The photo below shows the black connector that was plugged onto the relay. The pink wire is the wire that goes to the power window switch. The orange wire is the wire that goes to the 30 amp fuse on the upper left side of the fuse panel. The pink/black stripe wire goes to the ignition switch and is not needed anymore.

There are a several easy ways you could wire it. In my picture, I made a jumper wire to connect the pink wire to the orange wire in the plug. That's the jumper wire covered with electrical tape. Or I could have cut the orange wire and the pink wire and connected them directly together either by splicing or using crimp-on insulated male and female terminals. Or cut the pink wire and extend it straight to the fuse panel and plug it in where the orange wire is plugged on the fuse panel. They all work...just your preference. So, that's the easy way to get your windows working quickly.

This way the windows will work anytime, without having to turn the ignition key on. That's the way power windows used to work in earlier years anyway.

001 by grand73am, on Flickr
__________________
Steve F.
  #9  
Old 07-10-2019, 11:20 AM
starlightblack's Avatar
starlightblack starlightblack is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 909
Default

Thank You CanAmman and Grand73Am !!!!
  #10  
Old 07-10-2019, 11:58 AM
Grand73Am Grand73Am is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 2,736
Default

You're welcome .
__________________
Steve F.
  #11  
Old 07-10-2019, 12:08 PM
starlightblack's Avatar
starlightblack starlightblack is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 909
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grand73Am View Post
That "relay" only makes it so you have to turn the ignition key on for the windows to work. It's not needed. So you can remove it, or leave it and bypass it. Doesn't matter.

The photo below shows the black connector that was plugged onto the relay. The pink wire is the wire that goes to the power window switch. The orange wire is the wire that goes to the 30 amp fuse on the upper left side of the fuse panel. The pink/black stripe wire goes to the ignition switch and is not needed anymore.

There are a several easy ways you could wire it. In my picture, I made a jumper wire to connect the pink wire to the orange wire in the plug. That's the jumper wire covered with electrical tape. Or I could have cut the orange wire and the pink wire and connected them directly together either by splicing or using crimp-on insulated male and female terminals. Or cut the pink wire and extend it straight to the fuse panel and plug it in where the orange wire is plugged on the fuse panel. They all work...just your preference. So, that's the easy way to get your windows working quickly.

This way the windows will work anytime, without having to turn the ignition key on. That's the way power windows used to work in earlier years anyway.

001 by grand73am, on Flickr
So just pluck these two wires (pink and orange) out of the back of the plug in the harness that goes to the relay and join them and I'm good to go yes?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2127.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	97.8 KB
ID:	515562  
  #12  
Old 07-10-2019, 12:26 PM
Grand73Am Grand73Am is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 2,736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starlightblack View Post
So just pluck these two wires (pink and orange) out of the back of the plug in the harness that goes to the relay and join them and I'm good to go yes?
Yes, that's right. You could cut and strip the ends and twist them together, and they try your windows for a quick check. Don't short them out on dash metal while doing this of course. Remember that the 30 amp fuse in the upper left of the fuse panel has to be good too.
__________________
Steve F.
  #13  
Old 07-10-2019, 12:28 PM
Grand73Am Grand73Am is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 2,736
Default

Also, the orange one should be hot all the time, so if you test it with a test light and it's hot, the fuse is good.
__________________
Steve F.
  #14  
Old 07-10-2019, 12:34 PM
Grand73Am Grand73Am is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 2,736
Default

Here you can see where the orange wire plugs onto the fuse panel, upper left:

GOLD 2 by grand73am, on Flickr
__________________
Steve F.
  #15  
Old 07-10-2019, 02:04 PM
starlightblack's Avatar
starlightblack starlightblack is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 909
Default

I NOTICE you don't have a circuit breaker?
  #16  
Old 07-10-2019, 02:09 PM
Grand73Am Grand73Am is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 2,736
Default

No, mine don't have circuit breakers. I have 2 79's with pw, and they have fuses. I have seen some other years that have a circuit breaker. Not sure what years. Either way works of course.
__________________
Steve F.
  #17  
Old 07-11-2019, 08:45 AM
Warren Seale Warren Seale is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne Fl.
Posts: 184
Default

If you still want to keep the relay I've been able to clean and lubricate the moving part to make it work. I doubt if the relay coil windings are bad. The movement just gets bound up with age. I cleaned and lubed mine 25 years ago and haven't touched it since.

Warren
__________________
79 T/A,WS6,403,A3
96 T/A,WS6,M6
72 442,W30,A3
96 Vette convertible Grand Sport,F45,M6
06 Vette convertible,Z51,M6
  #18  
Old 07-11-2019, 08:01 PM
starlightblack's Avatar
starlightblack starlightblack is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 909
Default

thanks Warren, the soldered ground broke off and fell out...its a bit of a mess
  #19  
Old 07-12-2019, 10:39 AM
Skip Fix's Avatar
Skip Fix Skip Fix is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Katy,TX USA
Posts: 18,077
Default

You can probably use a small micro screw driver pop the Packard terminal out of the plug-put a single plastic plug on it and then get a matching terminal added to the other one.
__________________
Skip Fix
1978 Trans Am original owner 10.99 @ 124 pump gas 455 E heads, NO Bird ever!
1981 Black SE Trans Am stockish 6X 400ci, turbo 301 on a stand
1965 GTO 4 barrel 3 speed project
2004 GTO Pulse Red stock motor computer tune 13.43@103.4
1964 Impala SS 409/470ci 600 HP stroker project
1979 Camaro IAII Edelbrock head 500" 695 HP waiting for track time
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 AM.

 

About Us

The PY Online Forums is the largest online gathering of Pontiac enthusiasts anywhere in the world. Founded in 1991, it was also the first online forum for people to gather and talk about their Pontiacs. Since then, it has become the mecca of Pontiac technical data and knowledge that no other place can surpass.

 

Cold Case Radiators

Cold Case Radiators is a Max Performance company that produces high end aluminum performance radiators at a price point that won't break the bank. Polished and stamped tanks. 2 rows of 1" tubes. Lifetime Warranty.

GTOG8TA.com

GTOG8TA.com is a Max Performance company that manufacturers parts for the 04-06 GTO, 08-09 G8, and 93-02 Firebird/Trans Am platforms.

Copyright © 2017