Interior TECH Upholstery, Carpet, Dash, Headliner...

Old 08-31-2015, 03:52 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Rear seat upholstery and restoration DIY results

I thought I'd share the results of my latest project; rear seat upholstery for the 72 GTO. It might help convince those who think its too much work, or should be done by professionals only. I have no experience whatsoever in upholstering. Never used a sewing machine, needles, hog rings and related tools in my entire life.

Anybody can do it if you have some basic hand skills.

I asked for quotes, which ranged from 150$ per piece, to 500$ for both pieces. Most shops will not work with original covers, they want new covers. Same with materials, modern vinyl instead of burlap... My goal was to use original materials only. Do it myself would be the way to go then. I can only blame myself if its not to my liking.

So I thought, what the hell. Why not give it a try. I did the bottom part first:

- I started by disassembling the seats, sandblasted the frames, and give them a nice coat of primer and satin black paint. Not original, but I think it looks better than raw steel

- I had a local fabric shop replace the edges of the original covers, along with new paper-wrapped listing wires

- I studied how the seats were done. I hog-ringed the burlap, then used 1.5" thick foam for the bottom.

- I used poly batting at the corners for extra protection. Cotton was used originaly but poly will not absorb moisture and last longer.

- I hog-ringed the cover in place, starting at the middle bottom, then the middle top, working my way to the sides.

The bottom uses foam, but the back rest uses cotton/poly batting only. I will do the back sometimes this week. Still waiting for the jute padding to complete the bottom. The bottom is an oddball; the frame doesnt have the notch at each corners for the retractors, but the cover yes... Not a big deal.

Materials:

- 10 yards of burlap: 25$
- 10' X 72" 1.5" thick upholstery foam: 30$