Old 10-06-2020, 06:02 PM

Default "Ropeshaft" Replacement Bearings

Just read a comment in the Sept/Oct Issue of the Ropeshaft Reader regarding a replacement bearing for the Torquetube Propeller shaft (Ropeshaft) in the 62 and 63 models. FYI, the GM part number is 907193 and the New Departure Hyatt conversion number is Z993L05, and the newer standard conversion number is now shown as a 6005-2RS. Both the NDH Z993L05 and the 6005-2RS can be found on Ebay and various bearing suppliers. Since the specs on all these bearings show them as a "light duty" bearing, I'm guessing they don't see much of a load as used in the torque tube ( mounted in a rubber insulator) or they would have used a much stronger version of this bearing.
JK

Old 10-06-2020, 09:28 PM
Senior Chief

Good timing on your posting this. I find that my shaft bearings/transaxle bearings are pretty noisy. Unfortunately, I have no previous experience with these cars to know what is normal. When in neutral, with the clutch out and the shaft spinning, there is a fair amount of noise that is very hard to pinpoint front-to-back, but it seems louder toward the front. Pressing in the clutch and allowing it to stop rotating eliminates the sound. The clutch itself also behaves badly. When I begin to release the clutch pedal from the floor, the clutch begins to engage (pull the car slightly) at about the right position close to the floor, but then I have to continue moving the pedal several inches almost completely to the top before it fully engages. It is very hard to get used to. It makes me wonder if the clutch disc is not perfectly parallel to the flywheel/pressureplate and only the edge is touching initially until I fully release. It is also very prone to chatter.