Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 01-23-2021, 08:00 PM

Default Quadrajet problems

I have a new Jet Rebuilt 800CFM Quadrajet on my 455 (been sitting on a shelf for over a year waiting on the engine rebuild so I can't just return it). The gasket around the air horn is saturated with fuel after running for just a few minutes. It also seemed to be leaking around the accelerator pump. I ordered a rebuild kit, replaced the float, needle & seat, accelerator pump and air horn gasket. The accelerator pump no longer leaks but still getting quite a bit of fuel on the air horn gasket.

I then switched to an old Delco rebuilt unit I had that has never been ran, same issue... car runs but fuel is wet around the front of the air horn gasket. My fuel pump is a new stock GM until. Could the fuel pressure be too high (bad pump)?

Old 01-23-2021, 08:09 PM
Senior Chief

I’m no expert...but I’d start by checking the float level.

Old 01-23-2021, 09:29 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Float level, float condition, float touching something hanging up, needle seat rubber cracked / degraded, sometimes you can end up with debris inside inlets when carb changing,
If I suspect debris I will turn the engine over with the starter with carb top off float out needles out and flush the line, rag over carb ignition disabled

some people are reporting high fuel pressures with stock style replacement pumps

Old 01-23-2021, 09:41 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Take which ever carb is off the car now, flip it up side down and dry off the fuel inlet nut and blow with your mouth into the carb,

If you hear air rushing into the carb then when installed on a motor it will without fail flood out on you.

A carb up side down with the float in that position holding the needle closed should not let air in when you blow into it!!

1) 1940s 100% silver 4 cup tea server set.

Two dry rotted 14 x 10 Micky Thompson slicks.

1) un-mailed in gift coupon from a 1972 box of corn flakes.