Old 02-29-2012, 09:48 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default Dual Range Hydramatic Transmission

This thread is for discussion of the Dual Range Hydramatic transmission. It continues another thread where we got side tracked discussing the Dual Range.

I agreed with others that the transmission was "locked" in third/fourth gears and power (torque) did not flow though the fluid coupling. In an attempt to validate that was truth, I studied the transmission mechanical operation. The result of that study is that I now know I was wrong, the transmission is not locked in third and fourth gears, power always flows through the fluid coupling.

See Dual Range Hydramatic Power Flow. That is my attempt to explain the actual power flow through the transmission in third/fourth gears and set the record straight. It is not a light read so put your thinking cap on.

Old 03-04-2012, 02:54 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

I just updated the Dual Range Hydramatic Power Flow document. I changed wording where I said the "transmission is locked". That could be interpreted as the transmission is locked up but I meant it was locked into purely mechanical operation.

I also added some info on the Wikipedia Hydramatic description referenced in my document. After additional contemplation of the power flow, I now believe there is incorrect information in that article about the dual range.

In my post above where I say
Quote:
I agreed with others that the transmission was "locked" in third/fourth gears and power (torque) did not flow though the fluid coupling.
I should have said "...was locked into purely mechanical operation in third/fourth gears ...". We don't need any more confusion!

Old 05-12-2012, 08:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safari Larry View Post
I just updated the Dual Range Hydramatic Power Flow document. I changed wording where I said the "transmission is locked". That could be interpreted as the transmission is locked up but I meant it was locked into purely mechanical operation.