THE LOBBY A gathering place. Introductions, sports, showin' off your ride, birthday-anniversary-milestone, achievements, family oriented humor.

Old 02-03-2014, 12:29 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Blessing or Curse- 401(k) catch-up contributions @ 50

I turn 50 later this year and this makes me eligible to contribute an extra $5500 in catch-up contributions to my employer sponsored 401(k) program. While the eligibility is a good thing, spending more of my monthly pay on savings for future use, does have an impact.

I've been contributing the 401(k) fed max for several years now along with receiving a company match, but still feel like I am not adequately prepared once I scale down earnings. Given the likelihood of less social security and greater health care liability, seems like the current <55 generation is in for some rough times ahead.

While I'd like to spend ALOT more on my car hobby, but I'm constantly torn between retirement and college savings for my family. Curious what the rest here do to try and balance the budget and balance spending on hobby ?

As a planning metric, assuming a 4% return, $1,000,000 will net your $40,000 year ( gross ) on expenses. This plus SS needs to cover ALOT of things. If your luck enough to have to still have a genuine pension, then add that in and your probably better than most.

2016 Chevy SS; Sold
2001 Toyota Tacoma 4x4
2008 Infiniti G35x

Last edited by Jim Doran; 02-03-2014 at 12:34 PM. Reason: example
Old 02-03-2014, 12:42 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I've been contributing the maximum catch-up amount every year since I turned 50, if you have the ability to do so I would recommend it.

Old 02-03-2014, 12:46 PM

Good idea as long as the government keeps their fingers out of it.

Old 02-03-2014, 01:19 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Well, two hings come into play here.

First, when was the last time you had someone look at your investment portfolio in your 401K? I have it done annually (actually for PY 2014 we have an appointment tonight).