Old 08-15-2020, 09:51 PM

Default Knuckle Sandwich vs. Tubular Upgrade

I’m relatively new to building cars. I recently acquired my father’s 65 GTO that he had started to restore but never finished. The owner prior to my dad really messed up the interior of the car and swapped out the 4-barrel 389 for a 69 Olds 455.

My dad stripped down the car in 1987 and sent it out for blasting and painting. The blasting happened and a rough primer applied, but it sat like that until 2008 when he took it to my father-in-law who does car restoration for a living.

They got the body in pretty good shape and had begun to perform the knuckle sandwich upgrade. My dad is still around but lost interest. My FIL,s health has really deteriorated, so I’m mostly on my own now.

Anyway, They never got the sway bar hooked up and some hardware is missing. I was considering starting over completely and going with something like the UMI Stage 3 kit and a TRS disc brake kit. My question is if this is worth the extra expense to improve handling and wheel/tire options for a street car. I’ve been lurking and reading this site for several weeks now. Great information here but the options are almost overwhelming. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I’m not afraid to spend a little extra to make this a really nice resto-mod.

Old 08-16-2020, 12:04 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Send a message via AIM to JLMounce

That UMI stage 3 kit pretty much covers most things you’d want. It should ride decently and will definitely handle better than stock. The UMI stuff is well engineered so you don’t really have to think about much.