Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 08-11-2020, 11:05 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Carburetor problem on an old car

I have a 1939 Pontiac Series 28 sedan that I recently started playing with and was able to get the motor running after sitting for 50 years. I was even able to drive it around in my back yard as the clutch worked. But, I found out too late that I didn't have brakes! The parking brake froze up when I pulled the lever and the car barely slowed down. I was only in first gear so I shut the motor off and hoped it would come to a stop, and it almost did, before I hit a cedar stump. Since I had taken the whole front end off to work on the motor the radiator was what hit the stump and it got pushed back into the fan just enough to bust a hole in it. Luckily it was not the original radiator but a spare I had laying around.
Anyway,to make a long story even longer I got the parking brake freed up but ran into a problem with the carb. I am feeding it from a 6 volt inline fuel pump and a 5 gallon gas can. The carb is rebuilt but every time I try to start the car I have to squirt gas down into the carb. The motor starts right up then but no matter how long I let the thing run, if I shut it off I have to prime the carb manually before it will fire again. I was told it is the accelerator pump but if that was the case wouldn't the motor stumble when I rev it up? Once running it responds smoothly without any hesitation.
So if anyone has stayed here long enough to read this what should I look for?

Old 08-11-2020, 11:43 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Location: 31May2013 Temporary home to the world's widest (that we know of) tornado. Lord, NO more Please...

Calling Jon Hardgrove!!!

Shut it off
Shut it off
Buddy, I just shut your Prius down...
Old 08-12-2020, 12:16 AM
Ultimate Warrior

I don't know diddley but does the bowl have any gas in it after it sits for a while? If you pump it first thing, do you get a squirt?

Old 08-12-2020, 07:47 AM
Ultimate Warrior