Members Helping Members help Buying a non Pontiac item, transportation help, Handy-man advice, directions, vacation ideas, places to dine, ebay and generally anything you think might help other members.

Old 04-12-2020, 06:47 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default More carpentry questions

Hi all,

I'm a real novice when it comes to carpentry, I'll admit. Attempting to repair a back porch we never use. Wood rots even in dry as a bone California. Anyway, you can see from the pic I need to repair the banister by replacing the 2x4 running horizontal underneath the top rail. The problem is everything is screwed together and these screws are a b***ch to get out. Every banister has two screws and there are 14 of them into this horizontal 2x4 support. That' 28 screws. Then there's 6 more into the main supports.

I tried screwdrivers, and a drill. Also purchased an impact screwdriver on amazon but not sure its working right (cheap China crap) and not sure that would take these screws out either. I assume there's a relatively easy way to get these screws out? But I haven't found it.

Thanks for any advice. As you can see, I've already stripped two of the screws (using the drill).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2394.JPG
Views:	274
Size:	115.5 KB
ID:	537135   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2396.JPG
Views:	246
Size:	77.4 KB
ID:	537136   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2395.JPG
Views:	243
Size:	97.3 KB
ID:	537137  

Old 04-12-2020, 07:00 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Jeez, you got some work ahead of you there. The easy way is using an impact screw driver .. but you've tried that. First thing, and it's tedious .. get in there with a sharp pick and pick out all the paint and debri so the bit fits nice. If it bit fits in nicely they usually either come out, or break off.

Old 04-12-2020, 07:33 PM
Ultimate Warrior

That's a bugger when the heads are all filled with years of paint and stuff.