THE LOBBY A gathering place. Introductions, sports, showin' off your ride, birthday-anniversary-milestone, achievements, family oriented humor.

Old 04-29-2015, 04:02 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Pros/cons of rural living?

So my wife and I have been talking about moving to a more rural area. We found some property about 45 minutes north of us. It's 2.4 acres in a little town of 400 people. My commute to work would go from ten minutes to almost an hour, all freeway with no traffic concerns. We want to raise our 8 kids (plus any future foster kids we get) in a safer, more laid back environment. I just thought I would pick the collective brains here for any pros/cons of such a life. We would be building a garage ( oops I mean house....with a garage of course). This would also give me a lot more space for cars. I am not a complete novice ; I grew up in what was then a rural area outside of Phoenix. I have owned several homes, but this will be my first experience with building a new one. Any tips, advice, or other input on rural life is appreciated!

Thanks,
Importsmasher

66 GTO convertible 389/4 speed (parents bought new)
73 Firebird Formula 400/4 speed
74 GTO 455/4 speed
74 Grand Am
Old 04-29-2015, 04:57 PM
Senior Chief

I was born & raised in rual N.J. (Country) as I got older I bought houses in the country. I dont like neighbors looking in my pocket. I retired 9 yrs ago and moved to the country in SC. Ten acres & no neighbors. Always loved the country.Just my 2cents.

Old 04-29-2015, 05:10 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Other than the physical nature of being a long distance from most everyone else and possibly limited services (water. sewer, cable, emergency, etc..), I don't see that there are many cons to living in the sticks.

Old 04-29-2015, 05:21 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I'll take rural living over city living any day of the week, as I grew up out in the country.