Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 07-17-2019, 08:43 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default Motor blew on the dyno..I have a question.

I've been dealing with a motor that was built for me and it failed on the dyno. Here's what happened. When the motor was built, the builder did not secure the oil pickup tube and it fell into the oil pan. It was explained to me that this created a "Vortex" and starved the motor of oil. The chankshaft had to be replaced, bearings and two rods.

My question is this...With this kind of failure on the dyno that caused this kind of damage, is it possible that the distributor bushing and polymer gear could have been damaged? What other damage would you expect to see? You may have seen my other thread but I'd like to get answers to this particular question without distractions. Feel free to PM me your thoughts. I wont share any thoughts..I'm just looking for help. I'm new to cars and any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by Va68goat; 07-17-2019 at 08:51 PM.
Old 07-17-2019, 08:49 PM
Ultimate Warrior

There is really no way to tell what happened,just that it did.I had a pickup fall off a engine and did not know it for a couple years when I pulled the pan.I just noticed that when I stopped hard the oil pressure would drop.No idea of when it actually came off just that I found it in the pan.60 lb pump,stock 69 pan,because of what I saw on the gauge I always ran a Xtra qt of oil.The bearing were perfect when checked but I really never drove it over 3K on the street.For all the years I had been doing this I never welded the pickup.One reason is I cant weld!FWIW,Tom

Old 07-17-2019, 08:57 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

tom s,