Old 04-02-2006, 03:19 AM

Default Looking for an engine

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to this forum and this is my first post, unfortunately with bad news (for me). I've been researching and shopping for a 66-67 GTO for about 6 months now and finally bought a 66 GTO 2 weeks ago. The car had new paint about 4 years ago which still looks great, and a 1968 400 engine that was supposedly rebuilt less than a year ago with lots of hot rod goodies. Well needless to say, the second time I drove it (about 40 miles) the engine seized and now needs to be rebuilt or replaced. As you can imagine the guy I bought it from in North Carolina wants nothing to do with me now (although he was my best friend three weeks ago!).

Anyway, I am now in the market for a new engine. I would prefer a cool worked hot rod engine reasonably priced hopefully in the SoCal area. However, I'm not married to the idea and might consider a tri power setup. Also considering just rebuilding mine. Not sure what I want to do yet, just checking out all my options. I've been watching this forum for about two weeks now and everyone seems pretty knowledgeable so maybe someone could help me out with some advice, info or an engine! Would like to get it going for summer crusing. Anyway, thanks for reading......Bigg K

Old 04-03-2006, 02:00 PM

OUCH. Sorry to hear about your luck. I sure hope this doesn't put TOO BAD of a taste in your mouth regarding the hobby, although this would sure sting a bit.
Best of luck in your search. I am sure there will be many on this site willing to lend a hand or opinion.
Ben

Old 04-04-2006, 04:17 AM