The Body Shop TECH General questions that don't fit in any other forum

Old 01-17-2008, 09:38 PM
Senior Chief

Default Welder questions?

What kind should I get for doing panel/floors work on my sons trans? I have NEVER done this before so I need your words of wisdom.

Old 01-17-2008, 10:01 PM
Ultimate Warrior

You'll definately want to get a MIG welder, Lincoln, Miller, Hobart, but a good brand name instead of an off brand. The reason for this is because of finding parts when you need them, and they actually get better penetration with a good welder.

Are you taking about a transmission or a Trans Am? You will need to have special welding done on a transmission case if it's cracked.

Where in SW Ohio are you?

-r-

Old 01-17-2008, 10:42 PM
Senior Chief

I meant Trans Am, ha ha ha. I am right down the road from you in Blue Ash.

Old 01-18-2008, 11:49 AM

buy the best welder you can afford. i prefer a 220volt unit as they weld better than the 110's imo.

as ron said, buy a brand name miller and hobart are good ones.

moderator is a glorified word for an unappreciated prick..................

"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the
former." --Albert Einstein

"There is no such thing as a good tax."

"We contend that for a nation to tax itself into prosperity is like a man standing in a bucket and trying to lift himself up by the handle."

- Winston Churchill
Old 01-18-2008, 12:47 PM