Non Pontiac Motors in Pontiacs includes factory 403,305,350 Chevy, Buick V6,
Also Pontiac Motors in non-Pontiacs!

Old 01-12-2011, 09:49 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default ??? Will a Pontiac 455 w/TH400 fit a 1986 Corvette?

Wondering if it's possible to fit a traditional Pontiac V8 in a 1986 Vette? I chose 1986 since it's the year I graduated. JD

Old 01-13-2011, 02:04 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Well,I'm sure you can get it to fit on the mounts,as I've seen lots of pontiacs sitting on SBC mounts in GM trucks and such,so that part should be NBD really,as the two engines are fairly close to each other in that respect.

But the exhaust is going to be the major headache I'm sure.

I dunno JD,,,that's a good question???

Bret P.

In the meantime,check out the cars HERE.

Old 01-14-2011, 10:13 AM
Ultimate Warrior

I'm betting hood clearance will be an issue. The engines are set back pretty far too (all though not as bad as later models). It's going to be tight, and at minimum a large scoop will be necessary.

Old 01-14-2011, 12:20 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Quote:
Originally Posted by screamingchief View Post
Well,I'm sure you can get it to fit on the mounts,as I've seen lots of pontiacs sitting on SBC mounts in GM trucks and such,so that part should be NBD really,as the two engines are fairly close to each other in that respect.

But the exhaust is going to be the major headache I'm sure.

I dunno JD,,,that's a good question???

Bret P.
Quote:
Originally Posted by amcmike View Post
I'm betting hood clearance will be an issue. The engines are set back pretty far too (all though not as bad as later models). It's going to be tight, and at minimum a large scoop will be necessary.
I've got a guy coming tonight to make a final decision on my Ventura II. I'm sad to see the car go but it is what it is. I have a 455 I wanted to build and thought hey I wonder if it will fit? LOL No solid plans, but if it requires a big hood scoop I'm out. Thanks! JD

Old 02-20-2011, 06:58 PM