Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 11-06-2012, 08:18 PM

Default Tripower won't return to idle

Hey Guys

I'm a total noob when it comes to carbs. Having a recent problem with the tripower on my '65 GTO.

High idle, like 2k-3k. Center carb will not freely return to idle stop. I can force it with my fingers to close down to regular idle, but as soon as I let up, it snaps back up.

Any ideas why this might be happening. Some foreign matter somehwere blocking the return path or ????

There is a lot of play in the entire linkage. Is that normal. I referenced a friends 65 center carb, and his snaps back to idle with authority.

Thanks!
Brad
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	idle.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	83.3 KB
ID:	302542  

Old 11-06-2012, 09:18 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Try taking off the accelerator cable and see how it acts. There may be some wear in the cable that prevents a full return.

Old 11-07-2012, 09:58 AM

BradM,
Pfilean has a good idea. I too went through total aggravation when I recently changed my 64 4bbl car to a tri-power setup. Due to a series of issues, I ended up with the replacement end carbs, but the problems I had would be the same regardless.
1. As suggested, remove the cable to see if that is holding things up. Mine had a notch at the pedal end that kept it from returning all the way that did not show up with the 4bbl.
2.) Is your return spring on the front hole of the bracket or on the center hole? I had to put it on the center hole to get enough pull at idle.
3.) The linkage: Remove the slotted linkage from the center carb so the center carb is working by itself. Will it return all the way then? If so, then look at the slot for the secondaries in the picture. Is the center carb arm bottoming against the front of the slot? When you remove the linkage, will the slotted end turn freely? Mine was all brand new, and that too was causing a slight bind. Putting a bit of light machine oil on the turning joint cured that.