PDA

View Full Version : I just joined the Burned by Total Seal Rings Club

71 T/A
11-06-2004, 05:22 AM
After 2,500 miles on a new engine, my 455 is now going through about a quart of oil every 150 or so miles. There are no leaks but when I use full throttle there's white smoke from the exhaust.

I had read on this site how others had similar problems with the Gapless Total Seal rings. They suck. I should have gone the more conventional route.

71 T/A
11-06-2004, 05:22 AM
After 2,500 miles on a new engine, my 455 is now going through about a quart of oil every 150 or so miles. There are no leaks but when I use full throttle there's white smoke from the exhaust.

I had read on this site how others had similar problems with the Gapless Total Seal rings. They suck. I should have gone the more conventional route.

68GTOConv
11-06-2004, 07:28 AM
I have no personal experience with them, but it sounds that joining that club is just a matter of time once you install them. Shame you got bit ...

Mike M

Tom Vaught
11-06-2004, 09:31 AM
I would never run Total Seal rings or any gapless
ring on any engine that was going to run street miles.

Your 2500 miles is about 7500 quarter mile passes
and a LOT of people would be extremely happy to
have 300 passes on a set of rings.

Stick with the conventional rings and give up 7
hp and be happy.

Tom V.

Jeff Walker
11-06-2004, 12:58 PM
So if you are using them in a drag car whats the best way to moniter their condition? Leak down test?

Tom Vaught
11-06-2004, 05:33 PM
yep!

Tom V.

71 T/A
11-06-2004, 06:26 PM
Yeah and the manufacturer's rep said they could be used on the street with no problems. Sure.

Hot Rod
11-06-2004, 06:31 PM
I have run them since 2000 and have not had one problem..... I not going to get into the pissing contest about it but the long and short of it is you have to know what you are doing with them....

Rodney

Half-Inch Stud
11-06-2004, 08:02 PM
71 T/A