PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together

PY Online Forums - Bringing the Pontiac Hobby Together (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Pontiac - Street (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=418)
-   -   Speedmaster cylinder heads (https://forums.maxperformanceinc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=848925)

PAUL K 03-09-2021 10:50 PM

Speedmaster cylinder heads

4 Attachment(s)
While waiting for a return phone call today I realized I had a pair of 72cc Edelbrock heads and Speedmasters waiting in line for some work. I studied them a bit side by side and thought I'd share a few observations.

Intake ports are CNC matched from both manufacturers. The Edelbrock in the first picture is blended and smoothed with a sanding roll. The second picture is the Speedmaster which is not blended or smoothed and leaves some large ridges which will have a negative effect on performance.

The exhaust ports on the Edelbrocks are CNC matched (to a specific size) and the Speedmasters are as cast.

PAUL K 03-09-2021 10:55 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Both chambers are CNC machined and point the spark plug towards the exhaust valve. The Edelbrock chamber un-shrouds the plug and smooths out any exposed plug threads in the chamber.

Edelbrock head is on the right

PAUL K 03-09-2021 11:02 PM

2 Attachment(s)
The Speedmaster head's valve job was cut using a radius cutter on the intake and exhaust seats. The Edelbrock uses your basic multi-angle cutter on both.

The Edelbrock has the bowls blended and smoothed. The Speedmasters are not and they have sharp edges that need to be smoothed or some of their performance potential will be negatively affected.

The Edelbrock head is on the left.

PAUL K 03-09-2021 11:21 PM

1 Attachment(s)