Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 09-18-2014, 11:25 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default tri power questions

I'll start off by saying i have NO experience with tri powers with that said I came across a tri power intake today. I took a look at it and on the under side of the intake it looked like there was a nipple on it when I got home I started researching the casting numbers so I can at least decode it also I looked on ebay but none of them had this nipple in the pics that i seen. What is it used for? I didn't think about writing down the casting numbers because I was at work on a delivery and didn't have time time. The only thing I really looked at was the threads for the carb studs and none were stripped it also looked clean along where it mounts to the engine. I am going to buy it monday if everything checks out. Is there any casting numbers that I should avoid and are more sought after? There is a huge price difference on ebay for the intakes. This will go on a 69 428 by the way.

Old 09-18-2014, 11:35 PM

9778818 - 1965 (small center carb, large base outer carbs)

9782898 - 1966 (all 3 large-base carbs)

These are the only 2 Tri-Power intakes that are useable on '65 and later heads like your 1969 heads.

The earlier intakes sell for a lot less money, mainly because they don't fit the more popular and much more common '65 and later heads. All of the aftermarket aluminum heads are the later style too so only the '65 and '66 intakes will work. An aluminum reproduction of the '66 intake has been produced for a number of years, PY sells them along with some other vendors.

In this case the casting numbers are everything.

Old 09-19-2014, 08:37 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

from the research i have done the tri powers seem to flow 700-800 cfm is that accurate? also how much of a difference is it between the 2 intakes you mentioned if any? Thanks for the help

Old 09-19-2014, 09:08 AM
Ultimate Warrior