Old 01-01-2021, 08:17 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default Need advice on doing the 1970 GTO front clip conversion on a Lemans Wagon

Folks,

I worked on an endura bumper setup for my 68 tempest wagon long ago, but am a total newbie to the 1970 conversion. I'm crossing my fingers that things go well and I'll be able to pick up a 70 Lemans wagon from a lead I got on this forum. It already has the GTO hood on it. I know the fenders are different and of course the nose, valence, turn signals and parking lights need to change.

1.) What's the best way to scoop up these parts and what should I know before I get started?

2.) I already know the fenders are expensive, but what about repops, or cutting up donor GTO fenders in the parking light area and grafting those to the existing fenders (assuming they are in good condition)? Seems like there are enough 70 GTO fenders that are rotted in the heel, but are decent up front, so I would think that's a possibility.

3.) Are the repop fiberglass bumpers any good, or do I need to find a decent endura bumper? I remember fixing my 68 endura bumper. It was a pain in the butt, but doable.

4.) What about valence panels? I see new repops being sold that come out of GM tooling, but are they any good?

Of course, the easy route is to score an entire front end....... Yeah, sure, that's easy........ LOL

Old Joe

Old 01-02-2021, 10:01 AM
Ultimate Warrior

This will not be cheap but will be super cool if you pull it off...

In addition to the parts you have mentioned, you will also need:

-GTO core support
-core support bracket that connects to middle of valance panel
-GTO frame to endura brackets
-correct wiring harness/ends for the GTO turn signal lights
-headlight bezels
-valance/fender support brackets that attach at bottom of core support
-might also need the panels that headlight buckets attach to.