THE LOBBY A gathering place. Introductions, sports, showin' off your ride, birthday-anniversary-milestone, achievements, family oriented humor.

Old 05-02-2016, 07:52 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default New NYS Move over for Police law scares me

They recently came out with a new law in New York where if you see a police officer involved in a road stop on the shoulder ,, You should move over into the fast lane if possible. I completely understand the reason yet if I was a police officer I would be pretty un comfortable with this. Reason being most accidents happen because people are not paying attention where someone might hit the back of the car or the officer themselves. But I think that it should be considered much more likely that an accident be caused down steam of traffic by people trying to change lanes, and involving the police officer.
I wonder what others think of this, especially an officer.
I know the law states, "when possible" but people can be really bad at reacting to the situation , slowing down hard,, turning down the radio,,Trying to get over abruptly and causing an accident. Hopefully I am wrong and just worry too much. And do they have this law in other states???

Old 05-02-2016, 08:13 PM

They have a similar law in my state.

I think you worry too much.

Old 05-02-2016, 08:25 PM
Ultimate Warrior

The same in Florida.

And the 'fast' lane is usually the slower lane here.
(at least all the old people run there at about half the speed limit)

Winner of Top Class at Pontiac Nationals, 2004 Cordova
Winner of Quick 16 At Ames 2004 Pontiac Tripower Nats

KRE's MR-1 - 1st 5 second Pontiac block ever!

"Every man has a right to his own opinion, but no man has a right to be wrong in his facts."

"People demand freedom of speech to make up for the freedom of thought which they avoid." – Socrates
Old 05-02-2016, 08:32 PM
Ultimate Warrior