Closed Thread

Old 05-18-2019, 06:54 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default Transmission swap

Hi everyone. My interest in some Pontiac years/models seems to be all over the charts for some reason. A little unsettled. Not sure why, but now I find myself looking at '66 GTO's. Many out there and prices seem to vary according to condition. I found a few of interest but was slightly turned off because they had automatic transmissions. Then I thought more about it. Getting older now and do I really want to shift a 4 speed?? I have other cars with 4 speeds already, so it's not like I would be missing anything. And I noticed that automatic equipped cars usually were priced cheaper. For no particular reason, I'm not a big proponent of any 2 speed automatic equipped car. I was wondering if it was possible and how difficult, to take out the 2 speed automatic transmission and replace it with lets say a TH350 or TH400. It would be a must to keep the original console and use the original shifter. I don't think I would have any interest in an overdrive transmission if I had to modify the transmission tunnel. Any thoughts would be appreciated, Carmine.

Old 05-18-2019, 07:44 AM
Ultimate Warrior

The 350 trans is a direct bolt in meaning - crossmember / mount/ you / driveshaft/ is the same, you can re-use the 2 speed linkage & shifter but the inside shifter detent must be bent back a tad to get 1st. gear. 400 trans will require a different yoke & shorter shaft & crossmember has to be moved & frame drilled.

Last edited by chrisp; 05-18-2019 at 07:45 AM. Reason: add
Old 05-18-2019, 04:46 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

OK. Good to know. Thank you, Carmine.

Old 05-18-2019, 05:21 PM
Senior Chief

My friend just put in a 200r4 in his 66. Loves it. Said it is the best think he has done. Used the same driveshaft..Shiftworks kit for modifying the shifter.

Old 05-18-2019, 06:13 PM
Ultimate Warrior