Members Helping Members help Buying a non Pontiac item, transportation help, Handy-man advice, directions, vacation ideas, places to dine, ebay and generally anything you think might help other members.

Old 02-04-2008, 02:45 AM
Senior Chief

Default Air compressor advice requuested

I am planning to buy an air compressor (my first) and I'm not quite sure what tank size/hp/cfm/etc unit to get.

I've never used a compressor before; frankly, I'm not really all that sure how much I would even use one. So I really don't want to go with the "buy the biggest sucker you can possibly afford"-advice. I'd be afraid it would end up being what the wife would label "that great big giant thingy wasting space that you spent all that money on."

All I really wanted was to have compressed air. And then, when I started to look at them, the little dinky things were STILL $70-80 bucks. So I figured, "Why not get something bigger and better for not a whole lot more?"

I notice there seems to be some pretty significant step-ups in price between compressors.

I've got my eye on a Central Pneumatic 21 gal, 3 hp oil lubricated unit that has 4.9 cfm @90 psi that I could buy for $127.50 at Harbor Freight.

Another "hot Harbor Freight buy" is a 4 hp 10 gal 2 capacitor motor model I could get for $100.

As to that step-up, the next performance upgrade is a 4 hp 29 gal unit for $349. And it's stationary.

I figure I'd use a torque wrench, perhaps occassionally the ratchet. And definitely the compressed air! But I have no idea what else I'd do with the thing at this point.

I'm a "typical household maintenance" and "typical automotive repair" guy. I'm not building my master-blaster big-block; just maintaining the engine I've got. Most of my maintenance is tune-ups plus taking off bad parts and putting on new ones. What I'm really looking for at this point is a decent compressor that would meet typical household needs adequately.