Old 10-07-2013, 05:15 PM
Senior Chief

Default 64 rear end indentification

Hello everybody,

I'm a new member that bought a 64 GTO this summer and looking at getting a more correct differential in it. I found a doner 64 tempest at the local salvage yard. Can anyone tell me where the date codes and axles codes might be on this to make sure it is a 64 housing? Also what might the axles codes be?

Thank you for the help!

Old 10-07-2013, 05:33 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I don't know about dates. But, the ratio should be stamped on the right axle tube. I say that because that's what I heard. I haven't been able to find the stamp on mine. There's also supposed to be a "paint mark" on the top, but that's probably long gone. At some point Pontiac put a sticker on the left brake (two letter code) drum at some point too.

I'm new at 64's so I'm sure someone else can help more.

Old 10-08-2013, 06:25 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Assuming it is an actual '64 rear end:

Quote:
REAR AXLE CODES:
Pontiac used three forms of identification on the 1964 rear axles. The first is a letter stamped on the back passenger side of the axle tube. The second is a sticker containing a two-letter code. The third is a color code painted on the top of the differential and the ends of the axles.
Standard rear end: D,2D,yellow = 3.08, E,2E,white = 3.36, F,2F,blue = 3.55, K,2K,brown = 3.23, L,2L,brown = 3.23, M,2M,white = 3.36, N,2N,blue = 3.55
Safe-T-Track rear end: D,3D,green/yellow = 3.08, E,3E,green/white = 3.36, F,3F,green/blue = 3.55, H,3H,green = 3.90, K,3K,green/brown = 3.23, L,3L,green/brown = 3.23, M,3M,green/white = 3.36, N,3N,green/blue = 3.55, P,3P,green = 3.90
http://www.motortopia.com/car-clubs/...age1#post_9357

Old 10-08-2013, 07:11 AM
Senior Chief

Thank you for the info extremely helpful. Is there a date code or any other way to determine that its a 64 unit?

Thank you

Old 10-08-2013, 07:26 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Not sure.

More info on 1965 up rear end codes and date codes: