Pontiac - Boost Turbo, supercharged, Nitrous, EFI & other Power Adders discussed here.

Old 01-07-2020, 09:34 PM
Senior Chief

Default Camshaft suggestions for a 496ci TT

As some may already know I am building a 496ci TT. Just got the flow numbers back from the head porter so I am starting to look for a SOLID ROLLER cam for it.

Build:
455 .040+
4.5 stroke
72cc EDL Round Ports Perf / RPM 2.19/1.77 (flow 332/242 @ .650)
1:5 HS rockers
CP 4.191 Pistons 40cc dish
MPFI Single Plane with 105mm throttle body
Leaning towards Dominator EFI ECU

TH400 w/ GV overdrive (Stall yet to be determined leaning 2600-2800)

Plan to run 8-10lbs for a set of twins and have mild street manors.

I'm thinking max lift should be around .650

SPEED SAFE, NICK
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FLOW CHART PONTIAC EDL.jpg
Views:	441
Size:	41.6 KB
ID:	528399  

Old 01-10-2020, 09:31 AM
Ultimate Warrior

I am still studying and learning in the boost world, it seems like people are not as willing to dive into cams for boost. FWIW, we usually use Bullet for most of the cams we do for most of our tougher cam projects. I talk to Tim. I generally have a good idea of what I am doing before I talk to him. I have seen several guys on different Boards that run something from Bullet for boost. Tim is very helpful.

http://www.bulletcams.com/Masters/ultradynemasters.html

Just looking at your head flows and the cid with 10lbs of boost I would call Tim and start with the R43 and R16 lobes. 290/304 254/267 probably on a 116 lsa with a fair amount of advance, probably 6. Starting place anyway, that is as small as I would do. 1.6 rockers minus the lash would be in that .65.