Old 07-06-2021, 10:17 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default 63 GP - very strange 8 lugs issues

I haven't post for a long long time because they're nothing to post about.

I've had the silver 63 GP for 21 years now and other than the nightmare I had with fuel pumps seven or eight years ago, have had very few issues.

I've been running John's repop front hubs for the last eight years or so or whenever it was that he was producing them. I've had a mild thump that I've put up with all of these years, but other than that, no issues. They run cool, stop evenly and run virtually the same temp from side to so side, measured with a heat gun.

Ok, now comes ebay and I saw a set listed for sale that were supposedly refurbished. The son was selling because the father with no ebay account sold his 63 project car before it was finished enough to use the 8-lugs.

Hubs were relined and unused since the reline. I cleaned them up a little more by polishing the ribs and clear coating them as I have with every set I ever had of these.

Last time I drove it right before I replaced the front hubs. there was only a 1 degree difference between right and left, 151 and 152.

I installed them Saturday and everything came together fine

Replaced hubs with new Timken inner and outer bearings and adjusted as best I could by feel. I went for a drive. It was fine for a few minutes and then the right side started shaking. Pulled over and looked and could see nothing wrong. Drove some more and it was just getting worse so headed home. Measured with the heat gun and left side was 181 degrees and the right was 300 ... way way too hot for as easily as I was driving. I lifted the nose and spun the wheel and it spun fine. The left hub is fine.

Today, I dove in and took it all apart. Did wheel bearing again then just took it for a short drive. For the first few minutes it was ok then started pulling to the right while braking. Drove very gently.