Members Helping Members help Buying a non Pontiac item, transportation help, Handy-man advice, directions, vacation ideas, places to dine, ebay and generally anything you think might help other members.

Old 11-19-2014, 01:31 PM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default opinions of obamacare, i need insurance, lost my job

Well I find myself unemployed, my boss decided it was cheaper to buy desserts and bread instead of me making everything from scratch. I work as a pastry chef in s.e. pa if anyone knows anyone with a connection. The job market for what I do is bleak and that is optimistic. Pastry chefs, bakers and butchers are becoming obsolete which is sad, I really enjoy what I do.

Anyway my custody order mandates that I provide insurance for my daughter who is 6. I am looking into the chips program here for her. I also I found out have to have insurance or I get fined at the end of the year or something like that. It is hard for me to find information about all this.
I looked into plans on the aca website but what a ripoff they seem to be. The plan I can afford still has 6000 deductible and 6000 out of pocket and is not as good as what I was paying at my job <300 a month with a great plan, 1000 deductible. My neighbor signed up to aca last year and this year his premium has doubled. He expects it to double next year too. He is currently at 840 a month, practically a mortgage.

So could anyone provide some guidance or real world info based on your experience? I figure you guys are most like me, regular working family guy, Joe America you know? I figured I would post here before calling the aca center, I don't want to get my name on the Obama hitlist without being informed better.