#1  
Old 09-17-2023, 08:32 PM
grd777 grd777 is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto canada
Posts: 975
Default issues with my fuel gauge

when the car is off (key out ) it reads 1/4 tank, which is correct .when i start the car it goes to full . i have replaced the tank and the sending unit ,it it also grounded .what should i check

  #2  
Old 09-17-2023, 09:12 PM
johnta1's Avatar
johnta1 johnta1 is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: now sunny Florida!
Posts: 20,984
Default

Does it go past full with key on?


If so probably disconnected wire at sender or broken wire.



__________________
John Wallace - johnta1
Pontiac Power RULES !!!
www.wallaceracing.com

Winner of Top Class at Pontiac Nationals, 2004 Cordova
Winner of Quick 16 At Ames 2004 Pontiac Tripower Nats

KRE's MR-1 - 1st 5 second Pontiac block ever!


"Every man has a right to his own opinion, but no man has a right to be wrong in his facts."

"People demand freedom of speech to make up for the freedom of thought which they avoid." Socrates
  #3  
Old 09-17-2023, 09:38 PM
grd777 grd777 is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto canada
Posts: 975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnta1 View Post
Does it go past full with key on?


If so probably disconnected wire at sender or broken wire.


no stays at full

  #4  
Old 09-18-2023, 06:38 AM
johnta1's Avatar
johnta1 johnta1 is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: now sunny Florida!
Posts: 20,984
Default

Is the tank full?



I'd check that there is 12 volts at the dark brown wire at the gauge. The tan wire goes to the sender at the tank. The dash gauge needs to be grounded to dash and dash should have a ground also.

The sender on gas tank should be grounded also. The ground point may be corroded?

If the tan wire is grounded it should show empty I believe. (zero resistance)

At 'Full' it shows 90 ohms to the gauge.



__________________
John Wallace - johnta1
Pontiac Power RULES !!!
www.wallaceracing.com

Winner of Top Class at Pontiac Nationals, 2004 Cordova
Winner of Quick 16 At Ames 2004 Pontiac Tripower Nats

KRE's MR-1 - 1st 5 second Pontiac block ever!


"Every man has a right to his own opinion, but no man has a right to be wrong in his facts."

"People demand freedom of speech to make up for the freedom of thought which they avoid." Socrates
  #5  
Old 09-18-2023, 06:41 AM
johnta1's Avatar
johnta1 johnta1 is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: now sunny Florida!
Posts: 20,984
Default

If it is at Full, the sender may be stuck up which would show full I guess?
(if the others stuff checks out OK)



__________________
John Wallace - johnta1
Pontiac Power RULES !!!
www.wallaceracing.com

Winner of Top Class at Pontiac Nationals, 2004 Cordova
Winner of Quick 16 At Ames 2004 Pontiac Tripower Nats

KRE's MR-1 - 1st 5 second Pontiac block ever!


"Every man has a right to his own opinion, but no man has a right to be wrong in his facts."

"People demand freedom of speech to make up for the freedom of thought which they avoid." Socrates
  #6  
Old 09-18-2023, 04:20 PM
grd777 grd777 is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto canada
Posts: 975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnta1 View Post
If it is at Full, the sender may be stuck up which would show full I guess?
(if the others stuff checks out OK)


i will add more gas and see if it goes up

  #7  
Old 09-18-2023, 05:15 PM
Transamric's Avatar
Transamric Transamric is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Western WA.
Posts: 2,536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grd777 View Post
when the car is off (key out ) it reads 1/4 tank, which is correct .when i start the car it goes to full . i have replaced the tank and the sending unit ,it it also grounded .what should i check
Is the new sender an aftermarket replacement or a NOS GM?

  #8  
Old 09-18-2023, 05:19 PM
grd777 grd777 is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto canada
Posts: 975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Transamric View Post
Is the new sender an aftermarket replacement or a NOS GM?
aftermarket

  #9  
Old 09-18-2023, 05:20 PM
Transamric's Avatar
Transamric Transamric is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Western WA.
Posts: 2,536
Default

That may be the problem. It took me 3 senders to get one to read accurately on my '70.

  #10  
Old 09-18-2023, 05:23 PM
grd777 grd777 is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto canada
Posts: 975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Transamric View Post
That may be the problem. It took me 3 senders to get one to read accurately on my '70.
ok that will be a pain if i have to replace it . is anything i can try before i do

  #11  
Old 09-18-2023, 09:57 PM
Trevor78 Trevor78 is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 516
Default

A faulty ground, or disconnected ground wire at the sender would cause the needle to max out, off the face of the gauge, and not change if keys removed. The fact it drops again to what is assumed the correct level, shows that something is being introduced to the feed that shouldn't be there with ignition, a crossed-wired somewhere perhaps, but where, no idea. I guess that could also be at the sender itself. Was you harness to it still intact, has the rubber boot?

  #12  
Old 09-18-2023, 10:25 PM
grd777 grd777 is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto canada
Posts: 975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor78 View Post
A faulty ground, or disconnected ground wire at the sender would cause the needle to max out, off the face of the gauge, and not change if keys removed. The fact it drops again to what is assumed the correct level, shows that something is being introduced to the feed that shouldn't be there with ignition, a crossed-wired somewhere perhaps, but where, no idea. I guess that could also be at the sender itself. Was you harness to it still intact, has the rubber boot?
yes i am thinking something like that. now i need to find out step by step

  #13  
Old 09-18-2023, 10:45 PM
Trevor78 Trevor78 is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 516
Default

Some simple tests, that don't tell much, is to disconnect the sender wire at the trunk harness. With ignition, the gauge will max out, and without power, should stay there. Plugged back in, when working normally, it would pull back down to correct level. Normally.

The Following User Says Thank You to Trevor78 For This Useful Post:
  #14  
Old 09-18-2023, 10:47 PM
grd777 grd777 is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto canada
Posts: 975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor78 View Post
Some simple tests, that don't tell much, is to disconnect the sender wire at the trunk harness. With ignition, the gauge will max out, and without power, should stay there. Plugged back in, when working normally, it would pull back down to correct level. Normally.
k thanks will give it a shoot

  #15  
Old 09-19-2023, 12:56 PM
tdavidl's Avatar
tdavidl tdavidl is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: perry hall, md
Posts: 1,034
Default

i hope you can get it to work...if not, its not the end of the world...mine works, however, i don't know if mine is original or an aftermarket...same with gas tank & i don't have 100% confidence in how it reads so i just make sure i fill the tank every times to odometer turns over another 100 miles...never have to worry if the gas gauge us accurate then :-)

__________________
71 Formula 400, Castillian Bronze, Saddle Interior:
https://youtu.be/cfEv-1vKc0k
  #16  
Old 09-19-2023, 04:02 PM
grd777 grd777 is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto canada
Posts: 975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdavidl View Post
i hope you can get it to work...if not, its not the end of the world...mine works, however, i don't know if mine is original or an aftermarket...same with gas tank & i don't have 100% confidence in how it reads so i just make sure i fill the tank every times to odometer turns over another 100 miles...never have to worry if the gas gauge us accurate then :-)
yes one of my cars in the past had this issue and i seemed to mange ,thanks for reminding me

  #17  
Old 09-19-2023, 07:28 PM
Formulabruce's Avatar
Formulabruce Formulabruce is offline
Ultimate Warrior
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North East of AMES PERFORMANCE, in the "SHIRE"
Posts: 9,271
Default

Sender GROUND is at Back of unibody near the tail panel on a unibody extension, not far from filler neck.

__________________
"The Future Belongs to those who are STILL Willing to get their Hands Dirty" .. my Grandfather
  #18  
Old 09-19-2023, 07:43 PM
grd777 grd777 is offline
Chief Ponti-yacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto canada
Posts: 975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Formulabruce View Post
Sender GROUND is at Back of unibody near the tail panel on a unibody extension, not far from filler neck.
yes i see it will try to clean it up

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 AM.

 

About Us

The PY Online Forums is the largest online gathering of Pontiac enthusiasts anywhere in the world. Founded in 1991, it was also the first online forum for people to gather and talk about their Pontiacs. Since then, it has become the mecca of Pontiac technical data and knowledge that no other place can surpass.

 




Copyright © 2017