Old 04-24-2023, 09:52 PM

Default Bending zig zag spring tips

Anyone have any ideas other than brute force on trying to bend this stuff? I've got some 66 Catalina seats with several broken springs and I planned to replace them myself as a project. They have this sharp bend to hook into the seat frame. I started playing around with ideas, but nothing has worked just super well. Curious if anyone has past experience. I'm sure there is a special tool, but I'm not a regular upholstery guy, so I was trying to knock it out without investing a ton of money in proprietary tools.

Old 04-24-2023, 10:37 PM
Senior Chief

I made a set of these with steel handles. It’s a night/day difference from just trying to muscle them. You can use a big enough pair of crescent wrenches that’ll span the “U” shape on either side of the part you want to bend but it’s pretty dangerous if they slip.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	30459FCC-DE05-45D8-A3EC-2F1217E298CD.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	29.2 KB
ID:	611420   Click image for larger version

Name:	FE1A0782-9424-4E5D-A362-FDDEAD9B43FE.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	95.4 KB
ID:	611421  

Old 04-24-2023, 10:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy11 View Post
I made a set of these with steel handles. It’s a night/day difference from just trying to muscle them. You can use a big enough pair of crescent wrenches that’ll span the “U” shape on either side of the part you want to bend but it’s pretty dangerous if they slip.
Nice work! Maybe I should try and find a set locally where I'm at and give them a try. I'm not near my welder or shop to build much.

After messing with my 9ga spring some more, I'm not sure it's going to be achievable doing it by hand without some sort of tool, or heating it up with the torch and then trying to bend it.

Old 04-25-2023, 12:53 AM
Senior Chief

The only thing with heat is that it kills the temper in the springs and it’s not easy to treat them back to where they need to be.