Exhaust TECH Mufflers, Headers and Pipes Issues

Old 07-22-2007, 08:11 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default surface cracks in RA exhaust manifolds

I just pulled my original Ram Air manifolds from a '72 455HO and the passenger side has some small cracks that appear to be in the surface of the collector. I can't feel them on the inside of the collector so it doesn't appear they go very deep at all. Has anyone ever seen this in an older set and is there a problem with using them, or would there be some sort of low temp cast iron weld that would be needed. I am wanting to send them to be ceramic coated but don't want to waste the money on one that may crack further or eventually form a leak. Thanks for any help, Rick
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Manifold1.JPG
Views:	59
Size:	102.1 KB
ID:	98938   Click image for larger version

Name:	Manifold 2.JPG
Views:	77
Size:	106.0 KB
ID:	98939  

Old 07-23-2007, 03:52 AM
formerly 'Pontiac Jack'

I have no experience with the RA manifolds. If I were you, I'd try to learn the depth of those cracks with a small scribe or tiny wire. If the depth is some small fraction of the manifold thickness, I'd remove them by grinding.
Unfortunately, there's no such thing as "low heat welding"- whatever temperature cast iron melts at, that's it, no way around it. And welded exhaust manifolds seldom survive very long in use.

Old 07-23-2007, 04:40 AM
Suspended

nickle welding but its overkill and probably may complicate the cracking delema further. in the early 70's chevy bigblock manifolds were doing that alot. eventually it will fail, I think its caused by running lean for long periods of time. polishing is an interesting idea it may prolong the life of that manifold but it will eventualy fail. Your new manifolds should have a thermally reflective coating on the inside of the runners. Perhaps port match them and cleane them up and extrude hone them first.

Old 07-23-2007, 07:16 AM
Ultimate Warrior