Old 06-24-2002, 11:46 AM

Location: Somewhere between Lynn, MA (home) and Lakeland, FL (school)

Hey guys. I'm a newbie to pontiac engines. I'm planning on building an engine to drop into a 79 Trans Am.

I'd prefer to do a 400, but i'm not familiar with pontiac engines at all, i was thinking of doing a 350 instead.

I'd like to hear peoples opinions on which is better, the 350 or the 400 (perhaps i'll get a slightly biased answer on this forum, hehe) and any reasoning there is behind that.

Also, i'd like to hear about the technical differences between the two engines. I know that pontiac v8s' distributors are wired the reverse direction of a chevy, but that's about it. What else is different

Thanks guys...

Currently Have: 1985 Trans Am LG4 / 5 Speed
Want to get: 79-81 Trans Am w/no engine
Want to build: Pontiac 400 to put in the affore mentioned vehicle.

http://www.wadewilliams.com
Old 06-24-2002, 11:46 AM

Location: Somewhere between Lynn, MA (home) and Lakeland, FL (school)

Hey guys. I'm a newbie to pontiac engines. I'm planning on building an engine to drop into a 79 Trans Am.

I'd prefer to do a 400, but i'm not familiar with pontiac engines at all, i was thinking of doing a 350 instead.

I'd like to hear peoples opinions on which is better, the 350 or the 400 (perhaps i'll get a slightly biased answer on this forum, hehe) and any reasoning there is behind that.

Also, i'd like to hear about the technical differences between the two engines. I know that pontiac v8s' distributors are wired the reverse direction of a chevy, but that's about it. What else is different

Thanks guys...

Currently Have: 1985 Trans Am LG4 / 5 Speed
Want to get: 79-81 Trans Am w/no engine
Want to build: Pontiac 400 to put in the affore mentioned vehicle.

http://www.wadewilliams.com
Old 06-25-2002, 01:26 AM