Old 11-20-2022, 01:23 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default compressor questions....

Looking at a used shop compressor.....

I'm just a hobbyist...and don't want too much...or not enough...

This one is 5hp...and 135 max psi....

Plan on running a DA sander......and other misc. air tools.... 1/2 impact...

Any input is appreciated
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	74.8 KB
ID:	602342   Click image for larger version

Name:	data tag.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	55.6 KB
ID:	602343  

Old 11-20-2022, 09:58 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Looks like 11 cfm at 90 psi. Look up the air consumption of the tools you want to use.

It’s a single stage compressor by the look of it. So it’s not going to be a real work horse. It really depends on the price.

Don

Old 11-20-2022, 10:13 AM
Ultimate Warrior

ingersoll rand is a good brand, as long as its not worn out it should run a DA & other basic tools for a hobbyist with no problem. hopefully you can test it out to verify it builds pressure ok. even if the cfm rating is a little under the tools, it will still run them ok for a hobbyist that isnt using it for extended times or all day like a body shop.

looks like a 60 gallon which is what i have but a different sanborn brand, it will run a DA, cut off wheel, impact tools, & even a sand blaster without any problems or running non stop. i have a friend with that same IR that has painted his car in his shop running all sorts of body tools, a large stand up blaster & the paint gun. he bought it used too and its worked great for many years now.

Old 11-20-2022, 10:53 AM
Ultimate Warrior