Members Helping Members help Buying a non Pontiac item, transportation help, Handy-man advice, directions, vacation ideas, places to dine, ebay and generally anything you think might help other members.

Old 06-22-2022, 05:42 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Some roofing help

Just wondering if any of you roofers used these Atlas shingles from Menards

Pinnacle Pristine........with scotchgard

Castlebrook...........double seal technology

Briarwood Pro ..............algae resistant

Odd the same company makes these with just a different deal on each one.

Trying to figure out if one is any better than the other, price is just a few dollars difference one way or the other.

Any help would be great

Rich

Old 06-22-2022, 09:03 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I have no experience with Atlas shingles.

But you can go to the Atlas website and get some insight.

The Pinnacle Pristine includes the Scotchguard, they claim it helps prevent black streaks caused by algae.

The Briarwood Pro lacks the Scotchguard but they claim Hi-Def color, I expect the color choices in that line are "deeper".

The Castlewood also lacks the Scotchguard, not sure why it would be more "algae resistant" than any other shingle, the website doesn't seem to mention that as a feature. And it is included in their "value" line, the other two are in their "designer" line.

If algae and black streaking is common on shingles in your neighborhood, I'd be inclined to choose the Pinnacle Pristine.

If not, I'd pick according to the shingle color that I liked best. Looks to me that the most extensive color choices are in the Pinnacle Pristine line, the Briarwood Pro Hi-Def offers the fewest.

Old 06-22-2022, 10:43 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Ever consider metal roofing? Now comes in different colors and styles. It may very well be the last roof you ever need.

Old 06-23-2022, 08:00 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker