The Body Shop TECH General questions that don't fit in any other forum

Old 06-22-2002, 12:10 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

OK....It is just about time I buy the paint for my car....it will be ready to shoot in a week or two. But heres my problem....I have asked several different body men and restorers and gotten several different answers. Which is the best paint to use; single shot or two shot? I will be spraying this car myself and have used acrylic enamel before and I thought it came out pretty nice. I have no experience in base/clear. I am interested in strength, ease of application, and final result. What are the pros/cons of each? I appreciate your input on this, nothing like screwing up something you have your blood, sweat, and tears into....thanks

[ June 22, 2002, 02:50 AM: Message edited by: Lemans1 ]

Old 06-22-2002, 12:10 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

OK....It is just about time I buy the paint for my car....it will be ready to shoot in a week or two. But heres my problem....I have asked several different body men and restorers and gotten several different answers. Which is the best paint to use; single shot or two shot? I will be spraying this car myself and have used acrylic enamel before and I thought it came out pretty nice. I have no experience in base/clear. I am interested in strength, ease of application, and final result. What are the pros/cons of each? I appreciate your input on this, nothing like screwing up something you have your blood, sweat, and tears into....thanks

[ June 22, 2002, 02:50 AM: Message edited by: Lemans1 ]

Old 06-22-2002, 07:06 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Use base coat / clear coat . Trust me you will be happy with the results . If you can spray single stage you can spray bc/cc . It will also outlast single stage also .

Old 06-22-2002, 11:22 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker